Tue. Apr 7th, 2020

Tip Time

Tips about everything

Talking About Alyx – This is Only a Test 544 – 3/26/20

2 min read

The release of Half-Life: Alyx is the big story, and we spend plenty of time going over the game and the decisions Valve made to push the limits of VR. (All of our discussion is spoiler-free this week). We also chat about what the maker community is doing to provide its support during the covid19 crisis, and what could happen next. Stick around for an interview with Valve’s Robin Walker and Corey Peters, as well as our spoiler alert review of the latest Picard episode!

Show notes links:
Nation of Makers Summary of Maker Responses: https://docs.google.com/document/d/11ToBl0_OZ7Xe9ZJXq9P4AZXCWA8pxpoBNuatH8E2Oqk/edit
3D Printing Availability Signup: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdVfWaQi31l8VNUY6CVctJm5bElMmBKL7YG3mHY8ASvvcwrag/viewform
Prusa Faceshield Design: https://www.prusaprinters.org/prints/25857-prusa-protective-face-shield-rc1
Kenji on Food Safety of Delivery and home prep: https://www.seriouseats.com/2020/03/food-safety-and-coronavirus-a-comprehensive-guide.html
Bill Gates practically where we are at: https://www.facebook.com/TED/videos/1071228706574778/
Ed Yong on what’s next: https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2020/03/how-will-coronavirus-end/608719/
The Great Influenza by John Barry: https://www.amazon.com/Great-Influenza-Deadliest-Pandemic-History-ebook/dp/B000OCXFWE/

Tested Ts, stickers, mugs and more: https://teespring.com/stores/adam-savages-tested

Subscribe for more videos (and click the bell for notifications): http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=testedcom
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/testedcom/

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Simone Giertz http://www.twitter.com/simonegiertz
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch https://guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Jen Schachter http://www.jenschachter.com
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://www.instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman https://youtube.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney http://www.twitter.com/thebrokennerd83
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman
Set design by Danica Johnson http://www.twitter.com/saysdanica
Set build by Asa Hillis http://www.asahillis.com

Thanks for watching!

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.